The world’s largest stars celebrate The King of Rock’n’Roll

By on January 15, 2019

On Sunday, February 17, American NBC broadcasts a two-hour tribute program to Elvis Presley and his “68 Comeback Special”. In connection with the program, Sony Music Entertainment also releases an accompanying soundtrack album with the music from the legendary TV concert from 1968.

Artists appearing in the program include Yolanda Adams, Kelsea Ballerini, Dierks Bentley, Alessia Cara, Mac Davis, John Fogerty, Josh Groban, Adam Lambert, John Legend, Little Big Town, Jennifer Lopez, Post Malone, Shawn Mendes, Pistol Annies, Darius Rucker, Ed Sheeran, Blake Shelton, Carrie Underwood and Keith Urban.

The soundtrack album titled “The Best of the ’68 Comeback Special” is released February 15 and will feature original appearances by The King of Rock’n’Roll, and the song “If I Can Dream” by Elvis with new voice contributions from Carrie Underwood, Shawn Mendes, Post Malone, Darius Rucker and Blake Shelton.

The program will be led by the country musician Blake Shelton and will be broadcast on Sunday, February 17 at 9 pm US time. In the program they will pay tribute to Elvis Presley’s “68 Comeback Special”, and recreate the iconic evening of musical performances, showcases of rare pictures and photos, interviews with Priscilla Presley and Steve Binder, the director of the original TV show, and a special appearance from Lisa Marie Presley.

Music appearances in the program:

“Trouble”/”Guitar Man” – Blake Shelton
“Hound Dog” – Shawn Mendes
“Burning Love” – Keith Urban
“Baby, What You Want Me to Do” – Keith Urban & Post Malone
“Jailhouse Rock” – John Fogerty
“Can’t Help Falling in Love” – Ed Sheeran
“Always on My Mind” – Kelsea Ballerini
“Heartbreak Hotel” – Jennifer Lopez
“One Night” – Darius Rucker
“Suspicious Minds” – Blake Shelton
“Love Me Tender” – Alessia Cara
“Memories” – Mac Davis
“A Little Less Conversation” – John Legend
“Are You Lonesome Tonight” – Little Big Town
“Blue Suede Shoes” – Adam Lambert
“Love Me” – Pistol Annies
Hits Medley (“That’s All Right,” “Don’t Be Cruel,” “Blue Suede Shoes”) – Mac Davis, Post Malone, Little Big Town, Darius Rucker & Blake Shelton
Gospel Medley (“How Great Thou Art,” “He Touched Me,” “You’ll Never Walk Alone” – Carrie Underwood & Yolanda Adams)
“Little Sister” – Dierks Bentley
“It’s Now or Never” – Josh Groban
“If I Can Dream” – Elvis Presley, Carrie Underwood, Shawn Mendes, Post Malone, Darius Rucker, Blake Shelton

Follow and listen to the official Elvis playlist  here>>

Track list: Elvis Presley – The Best of the ’68 Comeback Special:

1. Trouble / Guitar Man (Opening)
2. Heartbreak Hotel (First “Stand Up” Show)
3. Hound Dog (Second “Stand Up” show)
4. All Shook Up (Second “Stand Up” show)
5. Can’t Help Falling In Love (Second “Stand Up” Show)
6. Jailhouse Rock (Second “Stand Up” Show)
7. Don’t Be Cruel (First “Stand Up” Show)
8. Blue Suede Shoes (Second “Sit Down” Show)
9. Baby, What You Want Me To Do (First “Stand Up” Show)
10. Are You Lonesome Tonight? (First “Sit Down” Show)
11. One Night (Second “Sit Down” Show)
12. Love Me Tender (First “Stand Up” Show)
13. Trying To Get To You (Second “Sit Down” Show)
14. Love Me (Second “Sit Down” Show)
15. Memories

Bonus Tracks:
16. A Little Less Conversation
RCA Victor single
17. Suspicious Minds
RCA Victor single
18. Burning Love
RCA Victor single
19. If I Can Dream – Elvis Presley, Carrie Underwood, Shawn Mendes, Post Malone, Darius Rucker, Blake Shelton

Helena Olofsson, Entertainment