The phenomenon Grace VanderWaal releases debut album

By on October 10, 2017

In September 2016, then, 12-year-old Grace VanderWaal won the 11th season of America’s Got Talent and after that, Grace’s life was not the same. With her ukulele and self-written songs, she took the American people and the jury (Simon Cowell, Melanie B, Heidi Klum and Howie Mandel) by storm. Her magic audition clip to AGT has over 71 million views on YouTube.

Last autumn, Grace VanderWaal released her debut EP “Perfectly Imperfect”, which became an anthem for young girls worldwide and the most selling EP in the US last year. Grace has been named “Choice Next Big Thing” at the Teen Choice Awards and at the Radio Disney Music Awards she was praised as “The Freshest – Best New Artist”. Billboard sees Grace’s greatness in the article “21 under 21” where Grace is featured in a splendid eighth place.

With an amazing first year as an artist, the now 13-year-old Grace VanderWaal releases her debut album “Just The Beginning” worldwide on November 3rd. Grace has herself written all the songs on the album and has collaborated with a group of songwriters and producers such as Ido Zmishlany (Shawn Mendes, Camila Cabello), Kinetics & One Love (Hailee Steinfeld), Greg Wells (Katy Perry, Adele), Gregg Wattenberg (Train, Phillips Phillips) and Sean Douglas (The Chainsmokers, Demi Lovato). Current single is “Moonlight”, the first track on the album.

“So many people have worked so hard on this, and I’m beyond excited for everyone to hear it,” säger Grace. “I’m so grateful for all my supportive fans. They motivated me so much through this album. I really hope you all like it, and hopefully it’s just the beginning.”

“Just The Beginning” – tracklist

1. Moonlight
2. Sick of Being Told
3. Burned
4. Just A Crush
5. So Much More than This
6. Escape My Mind
7. Talk Good
8. Florets
9. Insane Sometimes
10. A Better Life
11. City Song
12. Darkness Keeps Chasing Me

Helena Olofsson, Culture & Music