Superstar Nelly Furtado releases new album March 31!

By on January 30, 2017

“[Pipe Dreams] it’s a song to vibe out to, courtesy of the grooviest organ ever, and gives an idea of what to expect from her upcoming album.” – Fader

Rolling Stone calls Furtado’s “Pipe Dreams” ‘Dreamy’ and ‘Tender’ – Rolling Stone

With a career that spanned over two decades, five studio albums and over 16 million records sold is Nelly Furtado demonstrably an artist who can top the charts. Furtado is now ready for her sixth studio album, The Ride, released March 31, 2017 by Nelstar Entertainment via 10th St. Entertainment / Eleven Seven Music Group.

The Fader premiered recently one of her songs Pipe Dreams” from the new album and called it “a song to vibe out to, courtesy of the grooviest organ ever. Even Rolling Stone commented on the songtender” and “dreamy”. Last Friday, she released also single “Cold Hard Truth”.

On the album The Ride, which contains the song “Pipe Dreams“, Furtado has collaborated with Grammy-winning producer John Congleton (St. Vincent, Explosions in the Sky, Blondie, Erykah Badu, Franz Ferdinand, etc.). “It was kind of cool, because I’m super pop I really gravitate toward pop melodies when I write – but John is really interesting and might rearrange my pop song into more of a punk arrangement, nothing like what I would do, said Nelly about cooperation with Congleton to The Fader. Brooklyn Vegan acclaimed the cooperation onPipe Dreams, and said that … you can definitely hear her and Congleton‘s styles clashing on it (in a good way). To see what can be expected from the forthcoming album, you can check out the album trailer here.

After the release of the album The Spirit Indestructible 2012, Furtado took a well deserved break from the spotlight.

What happens when you have a successful album and/or career, is you go, go, go, more is more, yes yes yes and no time for no,” säger Furtado. “That took its toll on me and didn’t flow with my natural rhythm of who I am. I was having a crazy day and I drove to my friend’s record store and I said to him, ‘This is going to sound crazy but can I work at your store? I started doing a lot of things I always wanted to do—like sewing, ceramic and playwriting classes. I guess I was trying to distill my life a little bit. I was living in fast forward since I was 19. Through unstrapping and layering down and simplifying my life, I found joy again in art,” she says as she explains the inspiration for her upcoming album.

“It’s okay to maybe get off The Ride once in a while,” mentions Furtado, “and reflect on everything you’ve experienced”.

Listen to the singlePipe Dreams” here

Listen to the single “Cold Hard Truth” here


All songs Produced and Mixed by John Congleton at Elmwood Recording, Dallas, Texas/ Revolution Studios Toronto, Canada/The Orange Lounge Recording Studio Toronto, Canada. Except: Sticks and Stones, Produced by John Congleton and Mark Taylor.

1 Cold Hard Truth

2 Flatline

3 Carnival Games

4 Live

5 Paris Sun

6 Sticks and Stones

7 Magic

8 Pipe Dreams

9 Palaces

10 Tap Dancing

11 Right Road

12 Phoenix

Culture & Music