Paul Simon releases the remix edition of the classic album “Graceland” in June

By on April 15, 2018

In the same way as the new album is released, Simon also goes on an extensive tour, Homeward Bound – The Farewell Tour, with a stop in Stockholm, Sweden, the thirtieth of June.

Often nominated as one of the most iconic albums in rock history, Paul Simon’s “Graceland” from 1986, has been remixed. The songs are produced by electro and house music legends such as MK, Richy Ahmed, Paul Okenfold and Groove Armada.

The project “Graceland – The Remixes” contains 12 tracks in total and includes artists representing a wide range of music genres, including Deep House, Afro House, DnB and Tech House. Producer and project manager for the production are Michael Gaiman, AKA The Duke of New York.

“To say it was an honour to mix one of Paul Simon’s tracks is an understatement,”  says Richy Ahmed, referring to his remix of the song “The Boy In The Bubble”. “It is one of my favourite tracks ever.”

“What do you say when someone asks you to remix a classic? Well normally, No!”  laughs Andy from Groove Armada. “It’s a rule we’ve managed to follow for 20 years. Until we got a call about remixing a track from Graceland. Here was an album…which had opened our ears to a new world of sound. We decided to break the rule because we could choose a tune. In [“You Can Call Me Al”] was a horn riff which we’d been dropping in our sets ever since we tried it at Fais Do-Do’s Ballroom in LA back in 1998 and it created an electric moment of dancefloor unity. So the remix wrote itself and our ace-in-the-pack Horn Drop is now public property.”

Listen to the tracks that are already available:

1. The Boy In The Bubble (Richy Ahmed Remix) here>>

2. You Can Call Me Al (Groove Armada Dub Redemption Remix) here>>

3. Graceland (MK’s KC Lights Remix) here>>

4. Crazy Love Vol. II (Paul Oakenfold Extended Remix) here>>

5. All Around The World Or The Myth Of Fingerprints (Photek Remix) here>>

Paul Simons Graceland – The Remixes Released June 1, 2018 via Legacy Recordings / Sony Music.

Full Tracklist:

1. Joris Voorn – Homeless
2. Joyce Muniz – Gumboots
3. Sharam – I Know What I Know
4. Paul Oakenfold – Crazy Love, Vol. II
5. Richy Ahmed – The Boy In The Bubble
6. Groove Armada – You Can Call Me Al
7. Rich Pinder & Djoko – Under African Skies
8. MK with KC Lights – Graceland
9. Gui Boratto – That Was Your Mother
10. Thievery Corporation – Diamonds On The Soles Of Her Shoes
11. Photek – All Around The World Or The Myth Of Fingerprints
12. Joris Voorn – Homeless (Kitchen Table Mix)

Helena Olofsson, Culture & Music