“How did we get so dark?” releases June 16th!

By on April 15, 2017

After the success of their self-titled debut album, Royal Blood became the biggest breakthrough in rock in Britain in 2014. On June 16th comes the band’s most-sought-after other album, “How Did We Get So Dark?” via Warner Music. Their first single from the album is called “Lights Out” and is available now.

The Royal Blood breakthrough was huge. The debut album was the fastest-selling rock album in 3 years. They ended up in # 1 in Britain, Top 20 on the lists in 12 countries and have sold over a million albums. Before they knew it, they performed on the popular radio show Howard Stern and opened for Foo Fighters on their tour 2015. The band also won prizes from Kerrang !, NME, Q and Best British Band at BRIT Awards 2015.

The new album “How Did We Get So Dark?” contains 10 songs and was recorded in Brighton, Hollywood, Los Angeles and Nashville. Royal Blood likes to experiment with their gigantic sound and to take a step back when they create their music to give it maximum space and power. The album has been influenced by the singer/bassist Mike Kerr’s experience since the band’s breakthrough.

The band’s drummer, Ben Thatcher, spent 6 weeks together with the producer Jolyon Thomas in a studio that looked like an American diner in Brussels. “How Did We Get So Dark?” was completed in London with producer Tom Dalgety, who also worked with the band on their debut album.

The album’s first single “Lights Out” raises the rib from their previous songs with Thatcher’s rhythmic, coarse drumming together with Kerr’s unique and innovative bass rifle that has been taken to a new level. Their patented two-man artillery of carefully constructed aggression dominates the album, especially in the song “I Only Lie When I Love You”, which reminds fans of the power of their unique rifle and sharp refrain. The distinctive sound of Royal Blood is emphasized more than ever, especially in the massive intro of the song “Hook, Line & Sinker” but also in the intense ending of “Looks Like You Know”.

Although the album shows a more refined melodic sound, there are moments that meet the band’s vision to create songs that bring new dimensions to their concerts. “Do not Tell” is adorned with Kerr’s falsetto and a more peeled tone with hypnotic effect, in contrast to their energy-filled “Where Are You Now?” that stands out from everything else in their catalog. The band’s musical features have also been broadened and on the new album they use piano or keyboard on four of the songs, one of which is the album’s final track “Sleep”.

Royal Blood will be touring festivals this summer. They will start on The Governors Ball tour in New York City in June and end with two dates at Japan’s Summer Sonic Festival in August. The band has confirmed gigs at Glastonbury in Britain and will headlinea Eden Sessions June 22nd.

“How Did We Get So Dark?” consists of the following songs:

1. How Did We Get So Dark?
2. Lights Out
3. I Only Lie When I Love You
4. She’s Creeping
5. Looks Like You Know
6. Where Are You Now?
7. Don’t Tell
8. Hook, Line & Sinker
9. Hole In Your Heart
10. Sleep

Culture & Music