Foo Fighters ”The Sky Is A Neighborhood”

By on August 27, 2017

Foo Fighters follows up the rock song “Run” with the song “The Sky Is A Neighborhood” – the second taste of the band’s upcoming album Concrete and Gold, released September 15th. Dave Grohl calls the song “the biggest thing sonically that we’ve ever done”.

“One night I was lying out looking up at stars, just imagining all of these stars as places that have life on them as well, and I decided that the sky is a neighborhood, that we need to keep our shit together in order to survive in this universe full of life. But I had no music yet. I just had the title. So everyday I would walk around, kind of humming this thing in my head.”

“The Sky Is A Neighborhood” was recorded during an afternoon by Grohl and his fellow Foo Fighters Taylor Hawkins, Nate Mendel, Chris Shiflett, Pat Smear and Rami Jaffee. “And once we were finished I thought ‘OK now we have an album. This is it and we’re done’… as we were mixing, I realized that we’d actually done what we set out do: to make this gigantic Foo Fighters record but with Greg Kurstin’s sense of jazz and melody and arrangement, something that we’d never done before”, says Grohl.

The song deserved an equally ambitious visual presentation. The filmmaker Brandon Trost, Foo Fighters – with family and Grohl as director, created the music videos that have had world premiere. 

Concrete and Gold is written by Foo Fighters, produced by Greg Kurstin & Foo Fighters, and mixed by Darrell Thorp. Tracklist:

1. T-Shirt
2. Run
3. Make It Right
4. The Sky Is A Neighborhood
5. La Dee Da
6. Dirty Water
7. Arrows
8. Happy Ever After (Zero Hour)
9. Sunday Rain
10. The Line
11. Concrete and Gold

Culture & Music